Return Flight is an international multidisciplinary cultural exchange project curated by Elizaveta Maltseva and delivered with project partner Going Down Swinging.

The project commissions artists in one city to create new artwork, then writers in the opposite location to respond with a blind creative writing piece. Blind meaning that the writers do not receive the name of the artist or any context about the work. They are encouraged to trust their own reading of the work.

Then all collaborators are introduced to each other and interviewed about their project experience and personal practice.

The project is presented as a book series and exhibition in each city.

In 2017, the collaborators from Melbourne and Edinburgh explored the curatorial theme of 'place'. In 2018, collaborators from Melbourne, Christchurch and greater New Zealand explored the theme of 'home'. Finally in 2019, the collaborators from Melbourne and Hong Kong explored the theme of 'away' as the closing chapter of the project.

Review: Peril Magazine

Review: ArtsHub

Curatorial Note: Peril Magazine

Return Flight MEL>HKG 2019

Andy Li / Jacob Boehme 
Rona Green / Ding Cheuk-Laam
Lee Kai Chung / Laura Jean McKay
Olivia Mròz / Winnie Yan
Lai Andio / Joel Ma
Kim Hyunji / Wong Pui Yi Heidi
Jess LAU Ching-wa / Saskia Doherty
Michael Peck / Lo Lai Lai Natalie

Kinchoi Lam / Eleanor Jackson
Hugo Mathias / Lai Wai-Leung

Return Flight MEL>CHC 2018

Drew Pettifer / Jake Arthur
Inge Flinte / Sean M Whelan
TextaQueen / Selina Tusitala Marsh
Nancy Wilson / Didem Caia
Jade Walsh / Hamish Clayton
Cameron May / Andy Jackson 
Mike Elevan / Tayi Tibble
Miriama Grace-Smith / Ellen van Neervan
Khi-Lee Thorpe / Matariki Williams
Pati Solomona Tyrell / Jeanine Leane

Return Flight MEL>EDI 2017

Aimee Fairman/ Katherine McMahon 
Alessandro Di Massimo / Tony Birch
Phoebe Hearps / Nick Holdstock
Flo Gordon / Madison Griffiths
Mardi Nowak / Jenny Lindsay
Lewis Matheson / Robert Skinner 
Mitch Walder / Ryan van Winkle
Molly McEwan / Roz Bellamy
Matto Lucas / Harry Giles
Natasha Russull / Chloe Wilson

Curated by Elizaveta Maltseva

Edited by Megan Anderson, Magenta Sheridan & Renata Carli

Associate Editor Dr. LAI Chiu Han Linda

Designed by Jacqui Hagen 

Artwork credit: “Duramatwo” Matto Lucas, 2017